Too Fast – Returning to the Volvo Lifestyle

Everything is too fast and too busy lately. We’ve found ourselves eating a lot of foods of convenience. A sandwich here. A bean burrito there. We are rushing through meals between work and naptime and feeding the Wild Thing. There never seems to be enough time to sit down and enjoy our food let alone cook it! But we’re changing things up this week and return to the slow way of life. The Volvo lifestyle if you will ;)

We’re making an effort to eat some meals that are better for us, cutting back on the meat, filling up on the veggies and doing our best to sit down and eat at the table. It’s a crazy thought, I know.┬áBut, for me, during the day, it’s hard to sit down and eat. I still want to put better foods into my body though. I’m getting tired of subsisting on granola bars and peanut butter on a spoon. So, today, I broke out the blender and made a delicious smoothie. It only took a minute. I can eat it one handed while breastfeeding. It seems to be the perfect meal for my stage of life.

IMG_3913

Green Oats Smoothie

1 cup milk

1/4 cup water

1/4 cup quick oats

1 banana

4 large frozen strawberries

1 cup fresh kale

1 heaping spoonful peanut butter

1 scoop vanilla flavored protein powder (I prefer whey protein powder but whatever you have will work)

1 tablespoon chia seeds

Mix and enjoy!

Note: This makes two servings for me. So, I eat one and keep the other in the fridge for a mid-day snack.

 

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. I have to admit, the oatmeal makes me nervous. What’s the texture like?

    Reply
    • Mar – it isn’t really noticeable to me. I think it blends in with the banana. I only added it because the smoothie was otherwise too runny. You could skimp on the milk and leave it out, but it’s worth a try :)

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 796 other followers

